“Cooking with heart and soul”

Hello, my friends!

After a long time, I am back again.

You are probably wondering what the title is all about and why I haven’t contacted you for so long. I will of course answer everything immediately. Let’s start by telling you why it’s been so long since I’ve been in touch with you.

When the 3-school year ended and the summer holidays came closer and closer, it was clear to me not to be lazy and so I decided to go to work. It was also immediately clear to me where I would like to work. I absolutely wanted to turn my hobby into my profession and so I decided to go into the gastronomy sector as a chef.

First, I will describe the location, which means where did I gain my work experience and where the company is situated. Secondly, I am going to move on to the organisation, the working conditions and the company’s climate. Lastly, I want to describe my personal experience of being a cook.

 

So, let’s start, I have worked in the restaurant Perschler for a total of 2 months. The restaurant is located quite central in Murtal (Styria) and so I did not even have to drive 5 minutes to work which was very convenient. My WorkplaceThe restaurant provides space for over 250 people in three different rooms. The hotel visitors also get breakfast in a special breakfast room. This is equipped with a hot plate where you can choose between a lot of different and tasty dishes. Two other rooms they have, are my workplace (the kitchen) which is equipped with a lot of different cooking tools and the bar where you can mix a lot of different drinks.

Now I am going to move to the organisation and working conditions. In the restaurant, there are 2 important areas: The service and the kitchen area. The service is sending us the meals of the guests, and we are doing everything to send them out at their best. It was my job to prepare and cook the side dishes and salads for the whole meals. After a month with the side dishes, I changed to the middle of the kitchen where it turned really stressful. Now I was responsible for all soups and main courses, and the garnishing of dishes. I mostly worked part-time, from 9 to 14 o’clock and then from 5 to 9 o’clock. That’s about 7-9 hours, depending on how much was going on. The climate in the kitchen was usually very good. Of course, there are many stressful situations where it is not easy to be friendly and where most people are a little bit crabby, but that will pass quickly.

 

In my last part, I will describe my personal opinion of the restaurant and the experiences I got. The restaurant was always well-organised, even when many people came for lunch/dinner at the same time.  I have always enjoyed going to work very much. Through this stressful work, I have gained a lot, for instance working under time pressure or performing very precise.

All in all, I can summarize that I enjoyed working in the kitchen very much and that everyone who feels drawn to the kitchen should make an experience like this. I have no regrets and would take this step again and again.

My blog is coming to an end, if you have any questions you are welcome to ask me, I would also appreciate your comments.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *